Pritzker Prize Architecture Works

The Pritzker Prize is an international prize, which is awarded each year to a living architect/s for significant achievement. It was established by the Pritzker family through their Hyatt Foundation in 1979. It is granted annually and is often referred to as “architecture’s Nobel” and “the profession’s highest honor.”


Exterior - Wall-less House in Nagano / Shigeru Ban
Japanese Architecture, Residential

Wall-less House in Nagano / Shigeru Ban

In 1997, Shigeru Ban completed the Wall-less House, also known as the House Without Walls. In this project, Ban creates a “universal floor,” a term coined by Robert Kronenberg in “Transportable Environments.”  Walls disappear, and only the essential elements for living remains. Each space is part of the “universal floor”: the floor of the restroom is the same used in…

Continue reading

Alejandro Aravena wins the Pritzker Architecture Prize 2016

Alejandro Aravena, the Chilean architect winner of the Pritzker 2016 prize is a social housing visionary, who engaged with residents in planning their own particular homes. He encourages architects from everywhere throughout the world to address issues of poverty, contamination, and segregation. Watch his talk in TED from October 2014 to understand a little bit better his philosophy if you…

Continue reading